Waterblogged

wpid-20140820_095920.jpgToday’s photo post ties into the theme of “water.”  I decided to take a less direct approach than shooting a body of water, so I am sharing a picture of my Cockatiel Sydney, right after he received his first bath.  As you can tell, there is still a bit of water in those soft feathers of his.  Oftentimes, birds really enjoy taking baths.  Just give them a reservoir or stream of water, a feeling of security, and they jump right in.  Fearlessly, feet first, and feathers flying.  Sydney, however, was a bit more apprehensive. I put him near a gently running faucet and pretty soon, both he and the faucet were running!  Not wanting to traumatize the poor bird, I just let a bit of water run over him from my hand, which he still wasn’t crazy about, but tolerated.  I am proud to say that now, he will stand next to a bird bath, while I dip my fingers in and then sprinkle him.  It’s progress, folks, it’s progress.

Signature Cropped

Leave a Comment

